Time Travel with Music

Here I am again, another absolutely amazing Dare which I am sure each & every one of you guys will LOVE! From Christina’s hand we travel in time with music , such a delightful subject for me (and I guess for every one of us!), I made not one but two pages!!!!

The Digi Dares #320 California Dreamin’

I made the alpha & the papers, Jaque Larsen & Lilje Designs: Love Goes Round: Rounds ; Etc by Danyale: Timeless  & Wish List ; Sweet Digi Scraps: Storybook Romance  & I’m Liking it (FB freebie) ; Pink Reptile Designs: Musings  & Bloopers  collab with Studio 68; Paula Kesselring Designs: Speech  & Retro Sweets ; Little Butterfly Wings: After the Rain ; ViVa Artistry: Fairy Tale , 1776  , About Him Cherish ; EnKay: A Fresh Start ; Lisa Sisneros : Candy Pop (couldn’t find a store for her, shame, I love her stuff!). Font: Quickhand.

Journaling reads: It was summer of 1966, I was about to have the last operation of my childhood  (I was 8 years old & had already have 8 of them) Every time I had to go for the blood tests before ops, my grandma would sooth the situation by giving me records as a present, I had lots of them & loved playing them and try singing along That year she gave me Mamas & the Papas & I would listen to California Dreaming tirelessly, & since, even to these days, hearing the song transports me to that day in my childhood, next to the long piece of furniture in our living room which housed the record player, and I can see myself dancing in front of the mirror and have the mixed feelings of knowing I was going to have yet another operation the morning after and how much I dreamed of going to the USA to meet all the talented people I wanted to grow up to be like

Though I imagine most of you know well the song, here is a beautiful clip to it 

DigiDare #320

Ready Set Go by Julianna Kneipp , Music by Paula Kesselring Designs . Used the L from ViVa Artistry’s super sized Monogrammed Alpha  to clip one of the Music kit’s paper, the rest I made (also with Music’s papers) journaling font: soul handwriting free version from the Fonts Cafe .

journaling reads: isn’t it tragicomedy ironic that a song called London London beams me up to Rio’s mid 80’s & floats me through the memories of one particular year…? The fact that I ended up in London is funny, things have changed though: policemen do not try so much to please us as they did in Caetano’s times, I now call it home….whilst my eyes…. go looking for flying saucers in the sky….

Song: London, London by Caetano Veloso. He is one of greatest Brazilian musicien, he was exiled during the 60s, and wrote & recorded this song in English when he lived in London (exiled) Brazil had it even worse than Argentina with dictatorship,we had 21 years of it, Here is a link for the song  which is beautiful, the lyrics are in tittles during the clip:

Such and amazing Dare, you should come play with us!!!! Remember you have the chance to win up to $40 in coupons for our fantastic sponsors stores! Every Dare picks one winner who will win 4 $10 coupons for each of our sponsors stores, and one random winner who wins $10 coupon for the sponsor featured the Dare’s week. You can read and look up the stores of our amazing sponsors in my previous post HERE. To participate in the Dares, you don’t need to use any designer in particular, can use whatever you choose from your stash, just follow the Dare Flair and let your creativity run free! I’m always delighted seeing the diversity and talent that comes out of each Dare, come join us , you have until next Thursday, 25th of April at 10:00pm EST to post a link to your page in our Dare comments section, check this amazing Dare by Christina for this week HERE 

Regarding the everyday life of mine…. I’m so pleased the scrapping side of it is going well & has given me so many amazing friends, supporting in all matters, because let me tell you… being a teenager’s mum is NOT easy. As if we did not have enough to deal with, our fridge freezer broke down after 8 years (which I got to know is the actual estimated life of  these appliances, which made me feel a little bit better about it!) and that also made me wish for those times in which we would choose a store we trusted, walk in, explain what we wanted, the sales attendant (in most cases very nice) will show you the possibilities which wouldn’t be more than 5 or 6 we asked a few questions, picked the one, payed (usually in cash… you know, those old bits of papers with some figures in it we usually did not know the identity) and walked out, sometimes with the actual appliance if not with us, following very close by. Well, it turns out that the world has changed in such a huge way with technology, choosing the right one was a 5 days task, including me subscribing to a trial of Which that ended up proving useless and only confusing me even more & freezing my browser as I had so many windows opened at one time.

We choose independently of Which’s reviews, though they are very good ones, I wish now I had not read them as I now know a lot of stuff about the makings of the quality of the appliance which are not present in outside Which’s reviews (like the appliance can be harmed by your kitchen fluctuating temperatures) . Is not like I wasn’t willing to spend money, I would have stretched to £400 and even £500 but not one of the appliances listed in the Best Buys or even in their normal reviews of fridges that did not make the Best Buys was available for us to buy (the only one we found was in black, and with the size of our kitchen it would have looked like a coffin so no-no) The rest were models that are not available, maybe some letters change in the models but obviously the whole appliance specifications change quit a bit too. This maybe due to the fact that most reviews were from 2012, anyway… as I said, it froze my browser and I reckon even part of my brain for a few hours! LOL I am quiet happy with what we finally bought: A Hotpoint that has all specifications we wanted but the warning light, was well under the price we were willing to pay -£322- free delivery & collection of your old appliance included (where most places charge an average £15 for delivery & £10 for the collection) from good ol’ Curry’s online . Plus through Nectar  which added a good feel as they are on double points this week. Yes. Happy.

So, part of the stress relieved, after this weekend I’m facing a multitude of medical appointments &, hopefully, a warmer weather meaning a better me, I will be able to actually relax and have a good night sleep 🙂 Until the next one, hope to see you at the Dares!!!

 
About thelatinmrspeel

in the process of moving blogs, so more will come later
This entry was posted in Creative Team LOs, DigiDares, Digital Scrapbooking, EveryDayLife, review, scrapbooking pages, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

